HomeAbout CSI Join CSIRegisterProvider BenefitsLearner BenefitsMandatory Continuing Education

::  Massachusetts  ::

Electricians Requirements - Massachusetts

Listed below are the current state requirements for a(n) Electricians in the state of Massachusetts.

Renewal Dates

Total Hours Annually

Units of time

Distance Learning Accepted

Teaching Credit Accepted

Committee Credit Accepted

Self-Study Accepted

occur biennially - see below

21 minimum

60 minutes contact time

No

N/A

N/A

No

Completion Requirements
Attention: Massachusetts Electricians: The requirement for 21 hours of continuing education will take effect during the 2002 code cycle. The Massachusetts Board of State Examiners of Electricians has a very strict pre-approval process. It is the responsibility of the licensee to ensure the continuing education provider is approved by the Board. RedVector.com, Inc does not currently offer courses approved by the Board. If you have additional questions, please contact the Board of State Examiners of Electricians directly.

21 hours of continuing education every 3 years, of which, 15 must be on topics related to the Massachusetts Electrical Code, business, law and related topics.

ONLINE COURSES ARE NOT ACCEPTED - Hours must be done in a classroom.

Renewal Dates
Renewal occurs every 3 years based on initial licensure.

Renewal notices are sent out 6 weeks prior to the expiration date printed on each license. Once the continuing education verification and payment are received, the license renewal will be mailed within 4 to 6 weeks.

Statute:
237 CMR 7.00

Special Designations or Stipulations:
Notwithstanding the previous provisions of this section, Inspectors of Wires appointed pursuant to M.G.L.c.166, §32, inspectors of wires, electrical inspectors/investigators employed by the Division of Professional Licensure and members of the Board shall complete the required 15 hours of mandatory continuing education within the first year of the release of the current edition of the Massachusetts Electrical Code.

Completion of MCE with Same Provider. Licensees residing within Massachusetts shall complete the 15 clock hours of required continuing education with the same provider whether or not the provider conducts the course at different locations. Licensees residing outside Massachusetts may acquire the required 15 clock hours of continuing education from one or more providers.

Audit Potential:
Random

Allowed Carry-Over Hours:
None

Applicable Course of Study:
Except as otherwise provided in this section, each licensee of the Board, as a condition for license renewal shall present evidence satisfactory to the Board that in the 3 year period before license renewal he or she has completed 21 clock hours of continuing education.

Of the 21 clock hours, 15 clock hours shall be on topics related to the Massachusetts Electrical Code, business, law and related topics with a provider in area of study approved by the Board and 6 may be in areas chosen by the licensee for professional development in the subjects of Electrical Code, business, law, first aid, Safety and Building Code and related topics.

Regarding Class A and B Licensees engaging in electrical work within Massachusetts, such individuals shall complete a course of study which shall consist of 15 clock hours of instruction given by Board-approved providers focusing on the current edition of the Massachusetts Electrical Code, 527 CMR 12.00, as adopted by the Board and amended from time to time, and other rules, regulations and topics.

Class A and B Licensees who reside outside of Massachusetts shall complete 21 clock hours focusing on the current electrical code adopted by the jurisdiction in which they reside. It shall be the licensee’s responsibility to ensure that their provider has been approved by the Board.

Regarding Class C and D Licensees engaging in systems and security systems within Massachusetts, such individuals shall complete a course of study which shall consist of 21 clock hours of instruction given by Board-approved providers focusing on the applicable chapters of the current edition of the Massachusetts Electrical Code, 527 CMR 12.00, as adopted by the Board and amended from time to time, the current edition of 72 NFPA Code of Fire Alarm Systems, Rules and Regulations of the Board, Chapter 147 of the General Laws of the Commonwealth and related rules, regulations and statutes.

Class C and D Licensees who reside outside Massachusetts shall complete 21 clock hours focusing on the current electrical code adopted by the jurisdiction in which they reside. It shall be the licensee’s responsibility to ensure that their provider has been approved by the Board.

Proof of Compliance:
Upon successful completion of the 15 clock hours of continuing education, each licensee shall receive from an in-state provider a Board-approved certificate attesting to such successful completion.

Licensees completing the 15 clock hours of continuing education with an out-of-state provider shall submit documentation satisfactory to the Board of successful completion of such continuing education.

Each licensee shall retain the provider certificate or other acceptable documentation for 3 renewal cycles, and furnish it to the Board for verification of completion of the required continuing education if so requested.

Upon successful completion of the 6 clock hours of professional development continuing education, each licensee shall submit documentation satisfactory to the Board attesting to such successful completion.

Each licensee shall retrain such documentation for 3 renewal cycles and shall furnish it to the Board for verification of completion of the professional development continuing education if so requested.

Any licensee whose provider certificate has been lost or destroyed shall obtain a copy thereof from the provider who originally issued the certificate upon providing to the provider a written request and the reason(s) therefore.

It shall be the responsibility of the licensee to mail a copy of the original provider certificate with the renewal form and appropriate fee to the Board for approval.

Non-Compliance Penalties:
Any licensee who does not complete the required 21 clock hours of continuing education by the license renewal deadline shall complete 1 additional 21clock hour course for each renewal cycle for which the licensee is delinquent. Each such course shall be provided by a different provider.

If a licensee fails to complete continuing education requirements for 3 consecutive renewal cycles, any subsequent renewal shall be subject to Board review and approval.

The falsification of any information relating to the requirements of 237 CMR 8.00 and/or the transfer of a provider certificate to any individual for the purposes of license renewal application shall be grounds for the initiation of formal disciplinary proceedings to revoke or suspend the license(s) of the licensee(s) involved in such misconduct.

Disallowed Credits:
N/A

Exceptions or exemptions:
The Board may, at is discretion, consider a written request for a waiver from the continuing education requirement under the following circumstances:
(1) Illness or Disability. A request for a waiver based on illness, disability, or other medically-related condition shall be in writing, under oath, and accompanied by a letter addressed to the Board written and signed by a licensed medical doctor stating the nature of the licensee’s medical condition and the correlation between that condition and the licensee’s inability to complete the required continuing education.
(2) Board-Approved Instructors. Board-approved instructors who are teaching a 15 clock hour course on the Massachusetts Electrical Code and related rules, regulations and topics or who are Department of Education approved full-time electrical instructors at day-time vocational institution may apply in writing to the Board for a waiver of the continuing education requirement. The waiver may be granted by the Board upon its review and acceptance of his or her request. Instructors must renew their requests for a waiver and submit appropriate supporting documentation at each renewal cycle.
(3) Issuance of License 4 Months Preceding Renewal Date. Any holder of a license issued by the Board following examination or by reciprocity during the 4 months preceding the license renewal date may, at the discretion of the Board, be given a waiver of such continuing education requirement for the license renewal cycle in effect at the time of licensure.
(4) Other Good Cause. The Board may consider the granting of a waiver of the continuing education requirement for other good cause shown. Such request must be in writing under oath, and shall be accompanied by any supporting materials the licensee wishes the Board to consider in ruling on the waiver request.

Contact Name: James Fahey
Contact Address: Commonwealth of Massachusetts
Board of State Examiners of Electricians
  239 Causeway Street, Suite 500
  Boston, Massachusetts 02114
Contact Email:
Contact Phone: (617) 727-9931
Contact Fax: (617) 727-2197
Further Info : http://www.mass.gov/dpl/boards/el/
Further info :


Did you find outdated or incorrect information? Let us know by sending an email to cen@csinet.org